In the Episcopal Church, the vestry is the legal representative of the parish with regard to all matters pertaining to its corporate property. The number of vestry members and the term of office varies from parish to parish. Vestry members are usually elected at the annual parish meeting.


The presiding officer of the vestry is the rector. There are usually two wardens. The senior warden leads the parish between rectors and is a support person for the rector. The junior warden often has responsibility for church property and buildings. A treasurer and a secretary or clerk may be chosen. These officers may or may not be vestry members.


The basic responsibilities of the vestry are to help define and articulate the mission of the congregation; to support the church's mission by word and deed, to select the rector, to ensure effective organization and planning, and to manage resources and finances.

Vestry Officers

Heyward Gould, Senior Warden

Jimmy Sledge, Junior Warden 

Ryan Stallings, Treasurer                                   

Madolyn Kirby, Clerk

Term expires at the end of 2023

Rick Bryant          

Julia Emrich         

Sally Reel             

Whit Whitfield     

Steve Wiggins      

Term expires at the end of 2022

Evans Fitts          

Heyward Gould 

Amanda Humber

Madolyn Kirby   

Jimmy Sledge     

Term expires at the end of 2021
Rodney Haas     
Kathy Harris      
Jim Jolly              
Ryan Stallings   

Jackie Wuska     

kirby window 2.jpg